Picture
I was looking back at the previous things that I've wrote in my class and I noticed a few times that I was typing FPP instead of FFP. For some reason in my brain I thought that the word 'forum' was spelled with a "PH". I can see how I went wrong because they both make the same sound, but then all of a sudden it hit me, why does a P and a H put together make the same sound as F! It got me thinking of all the other strange spelling and grammar techniques that we use in the English language. Such as; what is with silent letters? If we don't pronounce the letter, then why do we write it? The word tsunami seems pointless to add a T, other words just put a K in front of it and then it magically becomes a new word. It must be really tough for people to switch languages to English. For me, I grew up learning English so it's implanted in my head all of the weird techniques. Also there are a few words that are spelled like they should rhyme
(just pointing out; why is there and H is rhyme?), but we pronounce them differently. Such as, Worm and Norm. Why aren't they rhyming? Another group of words that I always find odd are Thought, Through and Though. All you are doing is add or taking away one letter and now they words mean something completely opposite for one another. So my sympathy goes out to all of those poor kindergarteners and foreigners attempting to tackle the English language for the very first time!

Kelsey
3/20/2013 12:38:06 am

I agree Paul! The English language is very confusing and I don't think theres an explaination to the extra letters! Someone just wanted to mess with our heads.

Reply
Fergie (JHSS)
4/29/2013 10:57:16 pm

I agree! The English language has many weird words and rules. Good blog all the way!

Reply



Leave a Reply.