Picture
Finally getting the courage to run into the ocean knowing that it’s going to be incredibly cold. The cool ocean breeze gives me goose bumps and chills my body before I even enter the water. My first steps into the water make me want to turn around from the pain of the icy water. I keep on walking deeper and deeper into the ocean trying to achieve my goal of swimming in the ocean. I’m standing on my tippy-toes and jumping over each wave trying to avoid submerging myself. My dad has already sprinted past me and dove beneath the water. Up ahead, a wave much bigger than all the other ones approaches me. I know it’s my time to be brave and dive under water. Just before the wave crashes against me a dive head first into the strong force of the wave. The water is brain numbingly cold and I quickly push back up to the surface. The saltiness from the ocean covers my lips and makes my taste buds tingle. The air is not chilly anymore and water isn’t so painfully cold. I jump in the waves a bit along feeling proud that I accomplished my goal. As soon as I stop moving, the water temperature feels like it plummeted 100 degrees below 0 and I race out of the water to wrap myself in a soft, warm towel.

- I took the picture from my hotel room in Myrtle Beach


Ariel
4/1/2013 11:55:48 pm

Everything that you just said, I do. I stand on my toes all the time because I don't want to freeze. Then when you see a wave you jump so it doesn't hit your stomach. Now I just dive in so I can get it done and over with.

Reply



Leave a Reply.