Picture
    This book has been around for awhile; it was first punished in 1954. Both my brother and my dad have read the book and they both had good words for it. The main part that they told me about was that it's interesting to see how the boys on the island form a government and stay alive. So when I was picturing that in my head, I thought that there was going to be a group of 16 to 18 year old kids on an island. And that they would all be mature and strong because of their age. But I was wrong. The ages of the boys on the island are from 6 to 12 years old. That's crazy! When I was about 10 years old I didn't know much about any government structure or most importantly any clue on how to survive on a deserted island. I've just started reading the book but I know that I am going to enjoy it.

    A lot of TV shows have made little jokes here and there about the book, except the one that I remember the most was The Simpsons parody. In that episode the school bus crashes off a bridge, the kids get stuck on island, and then they figure out how to survive. It was a pretty good episode, but I'm trying to think back to key events that they covered that will most likely happen in the original book.
I remember one of the kids eating all the food, there being a giant boar on the island, and then the kids eating the pigs. So far in the book I'm pretty sure that those events will occur. One of the characters in the book is really fat, so he'll probably get into the food. Another little kid said that he saw a beast in the night, which could possibly be the giant boar. And they have seen a few little pigs running around the island so I'm guessing that they will be the food source.

    I'm really excited to read this book, mostly because it'll give me something to do for a while. Hopefully Lord of the Flies is just as good as people say it is.


Casey
5/3/2013 12:36:16 am

This seems like an interesting book! Since it's so old maybe my dad has read it as well

Reply



Leave a Reply.