Picture
Last Wednesday, a group of around 100 Japanese students arrived in Cambridge. There's an organization that plans and assembles host families in the region to invite in 1 to 2 Japanese students into their home. My family volunteered to take one in this time around. Currently, we have a 17 year old student named Kensuke Sawata living with us. 

Kensuke is very shy and doesn't speak much English; but I don't blame him. Being flown basically across the world to a whole new country and then staying in a strangers household would be terrifying. I know personally, I would have a lot of difficulties if I was in his position. Then there's the entire language barrier. In Japan, they do learn English as a second language, except when you're thrown into an all English environment it's definitely a challenge. Kensuke knows a few important English words and can charades a few things, but the word that he uses a lot is "Oh...Yes." Except I'm most certain that he doesn't actually know what I'm saying.

This isn't actually my family's first time hosting a Japanese student, Kensuke is our fourth. Each student that we've had in the past were all different. The first guy was super shy and didn't even try to speak. Then our third guys was so happy about everything and enjoyed his Canada experience. Most of the time they give us chop-sticks and rice paper fans and we simply try and find as many merchandise with Canadian flags and maple syrup treats.

This time, Southwood is really lucky and get to host half of the Japanese students at their school. I feel like that would so much fun to be with my friends and entertain the students. Maybe next year GCI will host the a group as well.




Leave a Reply.